Veldfire Media logo

Nelson Mandela University

Nelson Mandela University in Nelson Mandela Bay and George

Student numbers: 29,735 (2021)

Student radio station: Madibaz Radio

Print / online media: None

Nelson Mandela University (formerly known as Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University NMMU) was founded through a merger of three institutions in January 2005, but its history dates back to 1882, with the foundation of the Port Elizabeth Art School. The university was renamed in 2017.

NMU is based on six campuses in the Nelson Mandela Metropole and George. The university brings together the best traditions of technikon and university education, in a new kind of university that offers a wide range of academic, professional and technological programmes. Nelson Mandela University’s growing reputation as a leading Ocean Sciences hub recently took top honours nationally in the Life Below Water category in the international 2022 Times Higher Education Impact Rankings.

Approximate student numbers: 29,735 as per the latest (2021) Higher Education Data Analyser (HEDA) figures.

Student radio station: Madibaz Radio


Please contact us for up-to-date rates or a quote.


To see our other student media offerings and tertiary academic institutions across South Africa, you can click on any of the following links:

Eastern CapeFree StateGauteng | LimpopoNorth WestWestern Cape